top of page

Let's get saucy!


 


One thing I love about summer is gardening, and while I have a small garden, it is loaded with delisious herbs and vegetables. Right now my tomato plants are taller than me and I think I have made about five jars of sauce so far and I don't see an end anytime soon.


Growing up as a kid my mom always had a huge garden and we would make sauce from July all the way into September. The recipe below is a staple. It is so simple and great to make canned or frozen.

Good to note: If you omit the spaghetti sauce mix this also makes a great tomato soup.

Garden Fresh Tomato Sauce


3 qts. - Tomatoes, diced

1/2 c. - Olive Oil

1 - Yellow Onion, diced

1 - Green Bell Pepper, diced

1 head - Roasted Garlic

1 Tbsp. - Fresh Basil

1 Tbsp. - Fresh Parsley

1 Tbsp. - Pink Himalayan Sea Salt

1 Tsp. - Cracked Peppercorn

1 pack - McCormick Thick & Zesty Spaghetti Sauce Mix

  1. Dice tomatoes, onion, and pepper and add to a large sauce pot.

  2. Add in oil and seasoning, and put on medium high heat.

  3. While the sauce it starting to cook, roast garlic, preheat the oven to 425°F.

  4. Cut the bottom off the head of garlic and place in foil.

  5. Coat with olive oil, salt, and pepper.

  6. Seal up the foil and roast for 15 to 20 minutes.

  7. Allow to cool and pop out garlic and add to the pot.

  8. Turn down to simmer and let sit for 2 to 3 hours. Stirring occasionally.

  9. Using an immersion blender, or add it to a real blender, blender up until smooth.

3 views0 comments

Opmerkingen


bottom of page